The name “Jungle Primary” rang as true as ever this year for the June 5 election. Here are the results as of the June edition press time, but keep in mind there are many mail-in and provisional ballots still coming in, so some results may change.


Governor Democrat Lt. Gov. Gavin Newsom easily took the top spot in the Governor’s race, followed by John Cox, a Republican businessman. Cox was a relative newcomer and was able to edge out Newsom’s Democratic rival Antonio Villaraigosa for the second spot.

Senator Dianne Feinstein won 44 percent of the vote and will be competing for her sixth term against an unknown opponent in the November election. The second candidate in this race will either be Democrat Kevin De León, or Republican James Bradley.

Lieutenant Governor This race has not been called yet, but the top two front runners are Democrats Eleni Kounalakis and Ed Hernandez.

Attorney General Democratic incumbent Xavier Becerra will face Republican Steven Bailey in the general election.

Insurance Commissioner Steve Poizner, No Party Preference, will move on to face Democrat Ricardo Lara.

Secretary of State Democrat Alex Padilla and Republican Mark Meuser will face off in November.

Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond and Marshall Tuck will advance to the general election for this nonpartisan office.

Controller Democrat Betty Yee and Republican Konstantinos Roditis move on to the general election.

Treasurer Fiona Ma, Democrat, will face either Republicans Greg Conlon or Jack Guerrero.

Ballot Measures

Proposition 68 — $4 billion water and parks bond: Yes.

Proposition 69 — Isolates transportation revenues for transportation spending: Yes.

Proposition 70 — Requires legislative supermajority to spend cap and trade system money: No.

Proposition 71 — Effective start date for ballot measures: Yes.

Proposition 72 — Rainwater capture: Yes.

Nevada, Placer, El Dorado Counties

California’s 4th Congressional District — Democrat Jessica Morse will move on to face Republican incumbent Tom McClintock in the general election. Morse carried the second spot with 20 percent of the vote compared to McClintock’s 52 percent.

State Board of Equalization District 1 — Democrat Tom Hallinan, with 38 percent of the vote, will be up against Republican Ted Gaines in November.

Nevada, Placer Counties

California Assembly District 1 — Republican Brian Dahle garnered 64.5 percent of the vote and will face Democrat Caleen Sisk, who pulled 22.8 percent, in the November election.

Leading County Candidates

Nevada County

Clerk-Recorder Gregory Diaz, 70 percent

District Attorney   Cliff Newell, 52 percent

Shannan Moon, 35 percent

Placer County

County Clerk-Recorder  
Ryan Ronco, 76 percent

County Supervisor 1st District  Bonnie Gore, 62 percent

County Superior Court Office 2 Todd Irby, 59 percent

El Dorado County

County Auditor Joe Harn, 53 percent

County Recorder-Clerk Janelle Horne, 41 percent

County Supervisor, 4th District  Michael Ranalli, 50 percent

County Supervisor, 5th District  Susan Novasel, 37 percent

County Treasurer / Tax Collector Karen Coleman, 56 percent

District Attorney   Vern Pierson, 57 percent

Measures A, E, and G — Yes

Yes on Prop 68

Passing by a 56 percent margin, a yes vote for Proposition 68 on June 5 means a $4 billion bond measure for parks, water, and natural resources.

The bill authorizes an unprecedented amount of funding for watershed management, forest restoration, wildfire prevention, and other natural resource projects that are vital to the Sierra region. Approximately $142 million of Prop 68’s funds will be allocated directly to the resource-rich rural areas of the Sierra and Cascade mountain ranges, and organizations working on behalf of rural California won’t have to compete with other areas of the state for that portion of funding.

The funds allocated directly for this region will be split among three conservancies: $55 million to be used for general funding and forest health will be distributed to the Sierra Nevada Conservancy, $27 million dedicated toward general funding will go to the California Tahoe Conservancy, and $60 million for Sierra-Cascade watershed health will go to the Wildlife Conservation Board. The three conservancies will then parse out Prop 68 money to grantees with projects that fit the definition of each bucket of funding.

Editor’s note: This excerpt on Prop 68 appeared earlier in a longer Moonshine Ink online piece titled Prop 68: An Unprecedented Amount of Funding for Natural Resources in the Sierra Region.

What Now? Local Filing Deadlines

A few of the races listed above are finalized, and the names you’ll see on the ballot come November will remain the same; a few might change due to still incoming ballots. Some local races haven’t even begun yet, such as for the Truckee Town Council and various special district seats, and the filing deadlines are coming up soon.

Truckee Town Council

Beginning July 16 and ending August 10, any resident registered to vote within Town of Truckee boundaries can make an appointment to complete the paperwork for nomination to run for a Truckee Town Council seat. A valid candidate requires at least 20 signatures to run, and the election will take place on Nov. 8. Three Truckee Town Council members will be up for reelection in the November general election this year, including Morgan Goodwin, Carolyn Wallace Dee, and Patrick Flora, as their four-year terms will have expired, although Wallace Dee has stated that she does not intend to file for reelection. David Tirman and Jessica Abrams were elected in 2016.

Special Districts

The filing deadline for board positions at the local special districts is the same as for the Truckee Town Council, from July 16 to August 10. Below are the districts with openings, and number of seats available.

Tahoe Truckee Unified School District — 3 seats
Truckee Tahoe Airport District — 2 seats
Tahoe Forest Hospital District — 3 seats
Truckee Fire Protection District — 4 seats
Donner Summit Public Utility District — 2 seats
Sierra Joint College District — 4 seats
Truckee Donner Public Utility District — 2 seats
Truckee Donner Recreation and Park District — 4 seats
Truckee Sanitary District — 3 seats
North Tahoe Fire Protection District — 2 seats
North Tahoe Public Utility District — 2 seats
Tahoe City Public Utility District — 2 seats
Squaw Valley Public Service District — 2 seats