Support Our Pivot to Breaking News


A reader commented to us that until recently, he didn’t look to us for breaking news reporting. He was absolutely right: That’s never been Moonshine’s modus operandi. But when we were all hurled into the new reality ruled by this novel crowned virus, we stepped up to the plate.

In the short time since the disease made its presence known in our region, we’ve moved in real-time. The team developed a dedicated coronavirus landing page (, tracked every milestone in a live updates page, and produced 10 in-depth news reports, as well as a sundry of other COVID-19 coverage.

All done with a tiny staff.


“Editors of community newspapers, an often overlooked but critically important element of the U.S. media ecosystem, are frontline responders in the coronavirus crisis,” recently wrote the Poynter Institute, a renowned school for journalists, in an article that also mentions Moonshine Ink’s quest for transparency.

Our newspaper has always been about community first, journalism second, and business third. During a tumultuous time like this, these priorities seem in the right order. As many businesses have done, we are innovating as we go. In addition to the regular story-type coverage, we’ve partnered with KTKE, our local radio station, to bring Moonshine Minutes news reports to the airwaves and we’ve convened the community on pivotal conference calls about key present-day issues.

We’ve seen enthusiastic support for our metamorphosis. But we ardently need your help to keep going. If you’d like to see continued local coverage of the coronavirus, if you find value in quality local news, and if you believe that our democracy needs fortifying, become a member of Moonshine Ink.

WARRIOR ($600+ annually)

Roxanne Duffield

Mike and Pam English

Geoffrey Griffin

Stefanie Olivieri

Pomin’s Tahoe Hot Tubs

Steve Teshara

Michael Witherspoon

Lois Zell

Guardian ($300+ annually)

Walter Auerbach

Sierra College

Ruth Cross

Gary Davis

Kathleen Eagan & James Duffy

Jessie Eastman

Anonymous Donor

Gretchen Corbin KC Seymour

Anonymous Donor

Lisa Laliotis

Laurel Lippert

Cedar Glen Lodge

Jeff Loux

Anonymous Donor

Clay/Lori Richey

Andrew Ryan

Chris Ryman

Jeanette & Andrew Terry

Nelson & Edna Van Gundy

Kimberly Warren

Tom Watson

Jennifer Wayman

Jan & Louise Zabriskie

Sustainer ($120+ annually)

Doug & Pat Allen

Eddy Ancinas

Elizabeth Archer

Eve & Roger Auch

Maxwell L. Bailey

Ellie Beals

Virginia Boucher

Barbara Boyce

Beth Bradford

Kim Bradley

Karen Bradshaw

Anonymous Donor

Lucila Bratt

Melissa Brendt

Laura Brown

David Bunker

Coralie Burgess

Dale & Joan Bush

Scott Cadagan

Valeria & George Cano

Jen Carlile

Jamie Casey

Mitch Clarin

Michele Coleman

Peter Crosby

Mary & Paul Cushing

Colleen Dalton

Gayle Dana

Anonymous Donor

Jack & Lynda Detling

Drew Deurlington

Bret Dezordo

Seana Doherty

Brian & Joy Doyle

Sara Dube

Ingrid Eccles

Tom & Deb Echenique

Jen Ellermeyer

Lois Ermak

Vivian Euzent

David Fenimore

Christa Finn

Julia Flaherty-Lawrence

Wendy Floersch

Patrick Flora

Kay Fox

Chris Gallagher

Rolf Godon

Mike Gorman

Timea & Scott Griset

Ron Grove

Ruth Hall

Emily & Dean Headley

Judy Hemingway

Ralph Hendrix

Kathy Hess-Slocum

John Hillstrom

Pam & Tom Hobday

Kendra Hoeft

Ellen & Donald Hyatt

Sue Rae Irelan

Rene Kaldunski

Otis & Virginia Kantz

Jack Kashtan

Dan Kates

Charles Kellermyer

Kathy King

Anna Klovstad

Jennifer Knox

Lis Korb Larson

Jon Krauss

Arden Kremer

Gaylan & Lynne Larson

Laurel & Tom Lippert

Susi Lippuner

Anonymous Donor

Kerry Loux

Andre Luthard

Laura Mader

Anonymous Donor

Kathlee Martin

Julie & Dave Maurer-Schotzko

Anonymous Donor

Robert & Brady McClintock

Lettie M. Miller

Dennis Moore

Elena Nyhan

Steve & Sally Osborn

Heather Payne

Anonymous Donor

Wayne Poulsen

Anonymous Donor

Anonymous Donor

John Radebold

Leighton Raynor

Anonymous Donor

Jose Rivero

Katherine & Neil Rodriguez

Mike Rogers

David Rothman

Laura & Mike Ryan

M.C. Sabarese

Sage Sauerbrey

Andrea Schaffer

Jennifer Schaller

Kurt Schmitz

Wendy Shelton

Laurel Spivock

Anonymous Donor

Alex Stodtmeister

Molly Stuart

Arthur Takaki & Brita Tryggvi

William Thauvette

Ed & Janet Thorp

Katharina Tonett

Michael Turner

Rich Valentine

Kenneth & Lynne Weakley

Linda Welch

Laura Whittall

Carol Wilson

Laurie Woods

Bonnie Zellers

William & Diane Zuendt

William & Diane Zuendt

One-Time (Since Dec. 6, 2019)

Robert Bell

Anonymous Donor

Birgitta Depaoli

Chris Gray-Garcia

Ed Heneveld

Anonymous Donor

Anonymous Donor

Liz Nichols

David Rector

Scott Ryan

Jeremiah Schwartz

R.S. Smith

Leslie Suen

Jessica Thompson

Kimberly Warren

Anonymous Donor