Corporations have a purpose and provide services we all need, but their one-size-fits-all approach and homogeneity is the antithesis to what I believe many of us crave: authenticity.

LOCAL COFFEE, LOCAL NEWS: Get to know your community in an authentic way

And where do you find that? Mom-and-pop stores. When I have the choice between a Starbucks and a local café, I choose the café. When I see a Gap on one corner and a boutique on the other, I opt for the boutique. Of course, there is comfort in chains (no matter if you are in Savannah or San Diego, you know what you are getting with a grande Frappuccino), but does it tell you anything about the place you are in or the people who live there?

The same is true of newspapers. Sure, you can pick up a copy of USA Today and get a superficial gist for what’s going on in our country. But if you want to know the issues facing your community, you need a local newspaper. And you need one that takes the time to delve deep into important stories. Month after month,  Moonshine Ink does just that. Can you imagine any other newspaper breaking the 2012 and 2014 stories about Tahoe Forest Hospital that led to a two-year investigation and forced out the CEO?


Media is called the fourth estate because it plays such a crucial role in our political process as a watchdog. The adage “Think globally, act locally” is true. But to act locally, you need to be an informed citizen. And to be an informed citizen, you need a local independent newspaper serving as your fourth branch of government.

~ Melissa Siig, former Moonshine Ink editor and reporter; co-owner of Tahoe Art Haus & Cinema and Tahoe Tap Haus.

Moonshine Ink Members

WARRIOR ($600+ annually)

Roxanne Duffield
Mike and Pam English
Geoffrey Griffin
Stefanie Olivieri
Pomin’s Tahoe Hot Tubs
Steve Teshara
Michael Witherspoon
Lois Zell

GUARDIAN ($300+ annually)

Walter Auerbach
Sierra College
Ruth Cross
Cedar Glen Lodge
Gary Davis
Kathleen Eagan and James Duffy
Jessie Eastman
Anonymous Donor
Jeff Loux
Gretchen Corbin & KC Seymour
Anonymous Donor
Anonymous Donor
Andrew Ryan
Chris Ryman
Jeanette & Andrew Terry
Nelson & Edna Van Gundy
Kimberly Warren
Tom Watson
Jennifer Wayman
Jan & Louise Zabriskie

SUSTAINER ($120+ annually)

Doug and Pat Allen
Elizabeth Archer
Eve and Roger Auch
Maxwell L. Bailey
Ellie Beals
Virginia Boucher
Barbara Boyce
Beth Bradford
Kim Bradley
Karen Bradshaw
Anonymous Donor
Lucila Bratt
Melissa Brendt
Laura Brown
David Bunker
Coralie Burgess
Dale and Joan Bush
Scott Cadagan
Valeria and George Cano
Jen Carlile
Jamie Casey
Mitch Clarin
Michele Coleman
Peter Crosby
Mary and Paul Cushing
Colleen Dalton
Gayle Dana
Anonymous Donor
Jack and Lynda Detling
Drew Deurlington
Bret Dezordo
Brian & Joy Doyle
Sara Dube
Ingrid Eccles
Tom and Deb Echenique
Jen Ellermeyer
Vivian Euzent
David Fenimore
Christa Finn
Wendy Floersch
Patrick Flora
Chris Gallagher
Rolf Godon
Timea & Scott Griset
Ron Grove
Ruth Hall
Emily & Dean Headley
Judy Hemingway
Ralph Hendrix
Kathy Hess-Slocum
John Hillstrom
Kendra Hoeft
Ellen & Donald Hyatt
Sue Rae Irelan
Rene Kaldunski
Otis & Virginia Kantz
Jack Kashtan
Dan Kates
Charles Kellermyer
Lis Korb Larson
Jon Krauss
Arden Kremer
Laurel & Tom Lippert
Susi Lippuner
Anonymous Donor
Kerry Loux
Laura Mader
Kathlee Martin
Anonymous Donor
Robert & Brady McClintock
Lettie M. Miller
Dennis Moore
Elena Nyhan
Heather Payne
Anonymous Donor
Wayne Poulsen
Anonymous Donor
John Radebold
Leighton Raynor
Anonymous Donor
Jose Rivero
Katherine & Neil Rodriguez
David Rothman
Laura & Mike Ryan
M.C. Sabarese
Sage Sauerbrey
Andrea Schaffer
Jennifer Schaller
Kurt Schmitz
Wendy Shelton
Laurel Spivock
Anonymous Donor
Molly Stuart
Arthur Takaki & Brita Tryggvi
William Thauvette
Ed & Janet Thorp
Katharina Tonett
Michael Turner
Rich Valentine
Kenneth & Lynne Weakley
Linda Welch
Laura Whittall
Carol Wilson
Laurie Woods
Bonnie Zellers
William & Diane Zuendt

ONE-TIME (Since Dec. 6, 2019)

Robert Bell
Anonymous Donor
Birgitta Depaoli
Chris Gray-Garcia
Ed Heneveld
Anonymous Donor
Anonymous Donor
Liz Nichols
David Rector
Scott Ryan
Jeremiah Schwartz
R.S. Smith
Leslie Suen
Jessica Thompson
Kimberly Warren
Anonymous Donor

Update on Our Membership Campaign

You are helping keep Moonshine Ink as a real newspaper for the benefit of our community!

Our Membership drive is starting off strong! More than 190 donors have signed up to support the paper with the large majority electing to come in at set Membership levels, which gives us an indication of how much support will be coming in monthly. We are grateful, encouraged, and invigorated to continue our work.

We are appealing to you, our dear readers, to save and support Moonshine Ink with Memberships at five levels of support: Sustainer, Guardian, Warrior, Hero, and Angel, depending upon what you feel you can afford to keep the Ink benefiting our community.

Membership Benefits:

  • Subscription to print editions of Moonshine Ink
  • Sweet Member car-window decals, which we very much hope you will display so as to encourage others to join us.
  • Recognition of your Membership in Moonshine Ink, unless you request anonymity.
  • Occasional offers, special to our Members, from local businesses.
  • Standing invitation to join our monthly editorial team meeting.
  • Invitations to what we hope will be the annual Moonshine Ink Stellar People Ball.
  • And most important and valuable of all: You will receive the satisfaction and pleasure of knowing that you are doing your part to support a real newspaper in this mountain hamlet for the benefit of our entire community.

PLEASE NOTE: Moonshine Ink is not an official “nonprofit organization.” (For practical reasons involving the likelihood of local factional efforts to dominate a nonprofit’s board so as to gain editorial control of the paper, it could not be.) Therefore, your Membership contributions are NOT tax deductible.

Members have no ownership or voting interest in Moonshine Ink. And we know our Members appreciate that we cannot allow the fact of their Memberships to influence or control the paper’s ongoing editorial policies and decisions.

Contact Molly with any questions, (530) 587-3607 x0 or Vote for Independent Voices. Visit to sign up online.