Should the Government Help Newspapers?


Would government support of private media violate the spirit of the First Amendment?

A bill introduced into the U.S. House of Representatives by Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick (D-AZ2) on July 16 has that question as its basis. According to, here are the details:



The journalism industry’s 21st century metrics, such as subscriptions and employment, show that this era was hardly proven the industry’s most profitable even before the pandemic hit. But with the addition of the economic crash of 2020, the financial situation is particularly precarious for many publications. Local publications have fared particularly poorly.

What the bill does

The Local Journalism Sustainability Act would create three federal tax credits to encourage local media. The bill defines a local publication as one where the majority of the readership resides within a 200 mile radius.

  • A tax credit for a subscription to a local newspaper, up to $250 per year.
  • A tax credit to encourage local media to hire and pay journalists, worth up to $12,500 per quarter (equivalent to $50,000 per year).
  • A tax credit to incentivize businesses advertising with local media, worth up to $5,000 per year.

What supporters say

Supporters argue that the bill helps an industry vital to the American way of life, an industry whose freedoms are protected by the freedom of the press provision of the First Amendment.

What opponents say

Opponents counter that such a bailout would breach the firewall that’s supposed to exist between independent media and government by creating a mechanism in which journalists rely financially on the politicians whom they’re supposed to hold accountable.

The bill has 49 bipartisan cosponsors: 30 Democrats and 19 Republicans, which analysts say help its chance at survival, while it has a 2% chance of being enacted according to Skopos Labs.

What are your thoughts on this bill?

Moonshine Ink members

Our dear readers are saving and supporting Moonshine Ink with memberships. With reader support, we will continue to cover the trials, triumphs, and tragedies of our region. That’s our promise to you.

Become a member today at

Warrior, $600+ annually

Roxanne Duffield

Mike & Pam English

Steven Jolly

Stefanie Olivieri

Rick Stephens

Steve Teshara

Michael Witherspoon

Lois Zell

Pomin’s Tahoe Hot Tubs

The Rayfield Family

Sierra Mountain Mortgage

Guardian, $300+ annually

Walter Auerbach

Tom Ballou

Alison Bermant

Sierra College

Ruth Cross

Gary Davis

Kathleen Eagan &
James Duffy

Jessie Eastman

Dan Haas

(Anonymous Donor)

Gretchen Corbin

KC Seymour

Andie Keith

(Anonymous Donor)

Christopher Kohlhardt

Lisa Laliotis

Laurel & Tom Lippert

Dale Livezey

Jeff Loux

(Anonymous Donor)

Mike Richardson

Clay & Lori Richey

Andrew Ryan

Scott Ryan

Chris Ryman

Kathryn Shaffer

Jimmy Self

Ian Simmons

Lee & Teri Smith

Heather Solomon

Jeanette & Andrew Terry

Nelson & Edna Van Gundy

Kimberly Warren

Tom Watson

Jennifer Wayman

Jane Weeks

Jan & Louise Zabriskie

Cedar Glen Lodge

Sustainer, $120+ annually

Doug & Pat Allen

Eddy Ancinas

Kerry Andras

(Anonymous Donor)

Elizabeth Archer

Eve & Roger Auch

Maxwell L. Bailey

Paul Barna

Daniel Beringer

Jean Bertrand

Candy Blesse

Mary Blocher

Jennifer Bloomfield

Virginia Boucher

Barbara Boyce

Beth Bradford

Kim Bradley

(Anonymous Donor)

Karen Bradshaw

Lucila Bratt

Melissa Brendt

Laura Brown

David Bunker

Coralie Burgess

Dale & Joan Bush

Scott Cadagan

Stacy Caldwell

Valeria & George Cano

Jen Carlile

The Carr Sick Family

Jamie Casey

Mark Charney

Megan Chillemi

Mitch Clarin

Michele Coleman

Brent Collinson

Nanette Cronk

Peter Crosby

Breeze & Sue Cross

Mary & Paul Cushing

Courtney Dabney

Colleen Dalton

Gayle Dana

Marsha Demarest

(Anonymous Donor)

Jack & Lynda Detling

Drew Deurlington

Bret Dezordo

Seana Doherty

Brian & Joy Doyle

Kevin Drake

Sara Dube

Dennis & Leslie Dugger

James Easterbrook

Susane Eaton

Ingrid Eccles

Tom & Deb Echenique

Ellie Beals

Valerie Elder

Jen Ellermeyer

Lois Ermak

Vivian Euzent

Michael Eyton-lloyd

Trevor Fagerskog

Chris Fajkos

Shannon Falker

David Fenimore

Michele Finch

Christa Finn

Julia Flaherty-Lawrence

Wendy Floersch

Patrick Flora

Kay Fox

Kathy Freeman

Sharon & David Freeman

Judy Friedman

Chris Gallagher

Isabelle Geiger

Rolf Godon

Danny & Anne Goeschl

Mike Gorman

Pat Gregor

Gail Griesmer

Timea & Scott Griset

Ron Grove

(Anonymous Donor)

Ruth Hall

Emily & Dean Headley

Judy Hemingway

Deirdre Henderson

Ralph Hendrix

Cody Hess

Kathy Hess-Slocum

John Hillstrom

Pam & Tom Hobday

Cherrill Hoeft

Kendra Hoeft

Jan Holan

Brandon Howerton

Ellen & Donald Hyatt

Fred Ilfeld

Sue Rae Irelan

Hugh Jass

Joan Jones

Rene Kaldunski

Otis & Virginia Kantz

Jack Kashtan

Dan Kates

Charles Kellermyer

Jessica Kenny

Jenni Kestler

Kathy King

David Kirsch

Anna Klovstad

Jennifer Knox

Lis Korb Larson

Nick Kosla

Jon Krauss

Arden Kremer

Larry Lapkin

Gaylan & Lynne Larson

Mindi Leffler

Michael Linnett

Susi Lippuner

(Anonymous Donor)

Patricia Lopez

David Lougee

Kerry Loux

Tim Lucas

Andre Luthard

Sally Lyon

Laura Mader

(Anonymous Donor)

Kathlee Martin

Julie & Dave Maurer-Schotzko

P Tanzy Maxfield

(Anonymous Donor)

Robert & Brady McClintock

Shirley McCulloch

Carol Meagher

Shana, Nate, & Daisy Melen Berger

Megan Michelson

Annaliese Miller

Lettie M. Miller

Robert Miller

Walter Mirczak

Dennis Moore

Mike Murphy

Jane Newhard-Parks

Elena Nyhan

Rob O’Keefe

Crystal Obregon

Steve & Sally Osborn

Heather Payne

(Anonymous Donor)

Natalie Pecoraro

Suzanne Peipher

Christopher Peterson

Dave Polivy

Steven Poncelet

Wayne Poulsen

(Anonymous Donor)

(Anonymous Donor)

(Anonymous Donor)

John Radebold

Laurel & Paul Raymore

Leighton Raynor

Laura Read

(Anonymous Donor)

Peggy Ricketts

Tom & Teri Rinne

Jose Rivero

Katherine & Neil Rodriguez

Mike Rogers

Kathryn Rohlf

David Rothman

Linda Russon

Barbara Ryan

Laura & Mike Ryan

M.C. Sabarese

Sue Sage

Anthony Saraceno

Sage Sauerbrey

Dean Schaecher

Andrea Schaffer

Chuck & Arleen Schaller

Jennifer Schaller

Kurt Schmitz

Wendy Shelton

(Anonymous Donor)

Janae Smith

Laurel Spivock

Greg Stach

(Anonymous Donor)

(Anonymous Donor)

Kim Stewart

Alex Stodtmeister

Molly Stuart

Wendy Sumner

Arthur Takaki & Brita Tryggvi

William Thauvette

Kristi & Chris Thompson

Steven Thompson

Ed & Janet Thorp

Katharina Tonett

Michael Turner

Rich Valentine

Katharine Veni

Emily Vitas

Maria VonDerAhe Harrison

Kenneth & Lynne Weakley

Linda Welch

Laura Whittall

Alonzo Wickers

Carol Wilson

Laurie Woods

Donna Yamasaki

Jennifer & Todd Zaayer

Katie Zanto

Anna Zara

Bonnie Zellers

David Zimmerman

William & Diane Zuendt

One-time, Sept. 5 to Oct. 2

Dixon Beatty

Anonymous Donor